EYMM Hoodie Blog Tour

BAM! I made a hoodie for myself. Check it out!!
blog tour teaser

How awesome is it?? So freaking awesome, that’s how awesome. I found this fabric at a for charity sale that happens right around my birthday. Fabric is donated and priced at $1 per meter. This fabric was $2! TWO DOLLARS! Holla! I love it. I’ve been waiting to turn it in to a hoodie for myself ever since I got my hands on it in April. The EYMM Hoodie Blog Tour was the perfect opportunity to bump this project up to the top of my sewing list. Cheers to selfcare (or selfish, however you want to look at it) sewing!

PicMonkey Collage2

I used a zipper that was a little longer than I actually needed. When you reach the zipper construction portion of the instructions there is a link to Threads Magazine’s tips to shorten a zipper. I had a plastic zipper, and the article mentions using “nippers” to remove the excess zipper teeth. My initial thoughts: “Who the heck has these “nippers” just laying about? Crazy people, that’s probably who.” And off I wandered to my husband’s man cave beside my sewing room, doubtful that I’d find what I’d need.

2015-09-201 007edit

Yeah. Count my husband as one of the crazy ones. Just a few “nippers” laying about.

PicMonkey Collage3

During the sewing process, I posted a few photos on my personal Facebook and Instagram. When I posted the final hoodie someone asked if I was a baby carrying Mom. Truth be told, only occasionally. With four little kids, I probably should baby wear a lot more than I do. The question did get me thinking… How does the Asymmetrical Hoodie stand up to baby wearing?

PicMonkey Collage6

Not too shabby, actually. The fit of the hoodie isn’t form fitting, as it is meant to be a unisex garment. My chest measurement puts me in a women’s large (or D, since the pattern uses a letter sizing system). There’s enough room, and enough stretch in my fabrics, for me to wear my 13 month old, Jackson, in my Ergo carrier. However, it is a snug fit, so if you’re planning on making the hoodie or vest with the purpose of baby wearing, I would maybe go up one size.

DSC_0841edit

I love it. There are a few things I’d switch up for next time though. Thumbholes! I need them! I’d make cuffs with thumbholes next time. Also, it can be pretty freaking cold here, even in the fall. I might line the sleeves next time, just for the added warmth factor. Other than that, there isn’t anything I’d change.

DSC_0850edit

A few quick details about EYMM‘s His & Her’s Asymmetrical Hoodie & Hooded Vest:
SIZING: Womens: XS-5X (A-J), Mens: XS-5XL (C-K)
SKILL LEVEL: Intermediate to Advanced
16 pages of directions including 2 pages at the end with more detailed directions for attaching the lining to the main outer shell. (Those extra two pages are super handy!!)
119* professional digitized pages that you assemble to make the full sizes pieces. (* Note: Actually, a few quick notes. I counted the pattern pages as 121, not 119, so there’s that. For sizes A-F, you’ll only need to print 52 pages. For sizes G-K you’ll print 69 pages. The layer function is also available on the pattern to help you have on ink.)
And although I haven’t sewn it up yet, here’s a few details on EYMM‘s Zander’s Hoodie & Hooded Vest:
SIZING: Infants: 0-3m, 3-6m & 6-12m, Toddlers: 12-24m & 2/3, Youth: 4/5, 6/7 & 8/10, Tween: 12/14 & 16/18
SKILL LEVEL: Intermediate to Advanced
13 pages of directions 34 professional digitized pages that you assemble to make the full sizes pieces. (The additional two pages from the His Her’s with the more detailed directions for attaching the lining are also included. Again, super handy pages!)

2015-09-22 435edit

Want to WIN a copy of either EYMM‘s His & Her’s Asymmetrical Hoodie & Hooded Vest, or Zander’s Hoodie & Hooded Vest pattern? Just leave a comment! I’ll pick a winner using random.org at the end of the blog tour.

2015-hoodie-tourweb

Make sure to visit the other stops on the tour to see more versions and hoodie inspiration! Many are giving away a copy of the pattern! (Psst … check out the awesome savings listed after the tour links!)

*NOTE* The links below won’t show the tour posts until 7am PST on their day of the tour, BUT you are welcome to click through and check their blogs out at any time.

9/25

Blessed X Five and Capture, Craft, and Cook

9/26

The Wholesome Mama and EYMM

9/27

Rebel & Malice and Manning the Machine

9/28

Welcome to Our Crazy World and Connected by a Thread

9/29

Pretty & Precious Clothing and Boutique Birdie

Hop over to the EYMM shop and use code FALLHOODIES2015 to save 50% on either hoodie pattern! Coupon is good for Zander’s Hoodie & Hooded Vest (newborn-18tween) or His & Hers Hoodie & Hooded Vest (adult XS-5XL) and expires 11:59pm PST on Sept. 29.

*NOTE* These two patterns are INTERMEDIATE TO ADVANCED sewing level, as they include zipper installation and some unique assembly techniques.


What is this face? Seriously!

DSC_0855edit

UPDATE: Winner!
image

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to EYMM Hoodie Blog Tour

  1. Jenna D says:

    I love this hoodie and the fabric you chose! Would love to win a pattern 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2015 Hoodie Blog Tour: Day 3 | Everything Your Mama Made & More

  3. Rachel says:

    Love the pattern and it looks like a fun sew

    Like

  4. lauren hewitt says:

    With a 4 month old a baby wearing hoodie is something I’m adding to my must have list!

    Like

  5. Essence B Underwood says:

    Loving your fabric! And your hoodie!

    Like

  6. Sarah says:

    Looks great, and glad to see the fit with babywearing!

    Like

  7. Diane Cullum says:

    It’s cute on you and so cool with that fabric! Good work!

    Like

  8. Pingback: EYMM Hoodie Blog Tour |

  9. Kristi Coburn says:

    I love this! A unique hoodie…who wouldn’t!
    Thanks for the opportunity to win!

    Like

  10. Pingback: 2015 Hoodie Blog Tour: Day 4 | Everything Your Mama Made & More

  11. Pingback: 2015 Hoodie Blog Tour: Day 2 | Everything Your Mama Made & More

  12. Pingback: Hoodie Construction Tips & Tricks | Everything Your Mama Made & More

  13. Pingback: 2015 Hoodie Blog Tour: Day 1 | Everything Your Mama Made & More

  14. Pingback: Announcing the 2015 Hoodie Blog Tour | Everything Your Mama Made & More

  15. Rena Vandenbos says:

    I love thrift store fabric finds! That hoodie is fabulous.

    Like

  16. Pingback: EYMM Hoodie Blog Tour | Boutique Birdie

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

