Doctor…. Who?

This post originally appeared on Friends Stitched Together in January as part of CraftingCon’s Doctor Who month.

Hey Everybody! I’m Laura, I blog over at Manning The Machine. I’m ridiculously excited to be a contestant as part of this month’s CraftingCon. Doctor Who – the possibilities are endless. I bounced around a lot of ideas – including Twelve’s awesome red lined jacket. But, I felt my ideas were veering towards becoming too costumey and cosplay-like. I decided to take a completely different approach.

craftingcon30

My parents are Whovians, and all I got was this stupidly AWESOME t-shirt!!!! I made eight shirts – two each for my four kids, as well as legging for my girls. I had to enlist the help of the nieces to take photos of all the shirts. Thankfully they’re all about the same size. It’s cold outside. Like, freeze to death in the tardis while dreaming of drifting towards a cold burning star kind of cold. We headed to the library for photos. Don’t worry, we counted the shadows while we were there – all clear for Vashta Nerada!

craftingcon25

For the leggings, I decided to go with a silver-grey fabric. It made me think of space pants… also of Cybermen. And through the shirts, I wanted to try and represent each of the modern Doctors and their adventures. Since time is a big ball of wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey stuff, I’m not going to show them in order of Doctor. See if you can figure out which Doctor and adventure each shirt is representing.

craftingcon1

An adipose shirt and matching stuff, Baby Adi, for my Elle-Belle. She loves her Baby Adi, and takes him everywhere.

craftingcon14

Allons-y! This shirt is actually for my daughter, River, but Rachelle was kind enough to model it. River needed this shirt – she has a pillow of the Tenth Doctor with the 3-D glasses on.

craftingcon8

Oh, yes, did I not mention I have a daughter named River? Couldn’t miss an opportunity to make River a River Song reference shirt, now then, could I? Hello, Sweetie!

craftingcon2

I wanted to be a little more subtle about my Doctor Who reference with this shirt. Bow ties are cool, and perhaps, if Eleven had been a girl, she would have thought that bows were equally as cool. I made the bow hair clip to go with it, because my husband suggested the shirt seemed slightly Sailor Moon-ish. Rude! This shirt is for Elle, but Aylah helped out with showing it off.

craftingcon15

A Bad Wolf shirt for my Danica. She is the Bad Wolf. Actually, she was for Halloween, which is probably why I chose to make her the Bad Wolf shirt. I create (it) myself.

craftingcon26

It might not seem obvious, but this is actually a nod to one of Twelve’s adventures. But, I know not everyone has seen all of season 8, so SPOILERS! I’ll try and talk in code. You might need the TARDIS’s translator circuit to figure it out though. It’s a Cyberman shirt. A pink Cyberman shirt. A pink Cyberman shirt that I made for my daughter, Danica, who unfortunately we never nicknamed Dani (Danny). Do you get it? Do you? You’d know if you did. Keltie was awesome, and modeled this shirt while we were at the library.

craftingcon18

“Are you my mummy?” Yes, yes Jackson, I am your Mummy. Oh gosh. That episode was equal parts creepy and heartbreaking. And of course, a nod to Gallifrey, with a little Gallifreyan writing. Want to know what it says? The TARDIS’s translation circuits can’t translate it, but I’ll tell you what it says. “I love you.”

And I’ll leave you with this silly little sleeping Time Lord, Hailey! I don’t want to go, I’ll always remember when the CraftingCon competitor was me! Ha! Thanks for having me! (Sing it to Sleepy Kitty)

craftingcon

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

