Peekaboo Pockets!!

I had the opportunity to test again for Little Kiwi’s Closet. I believe this is my third test for Lydia. I’ve previously tested the Beachcomber Pinny and the Street Smart Sweatshirt Collection. This time around I helped test the Peekaboopocket Mix & Match Outerwear Top.

IMG_5969.JPG

IMG_6013.JPG I did not force her to shovel snow.

I whipped up the hooded pullover version for Danica with a reach through pocket. Yes, whipped. It’s super fast. I made Danica a size 4, according to the size chart. I accidentally stretched the sweater when attaching the hem band. You can see. Silly mistake.

IMG_5950.JPG

IMG_6106.JPG Cutest sneeze ever!

Next, I was avoiding going to the store to get a zipper for Elle’s, so I whipped up another hooded pullover. I made this one out of an old hoodie of mine. Instead of using the patterns hood, I used the sweaters existing hood. Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough ribbing in the sweater to bind the armholes, so I had to turn them under. This one has the small pockets. I made the size 4 again. But River claimed it as her own. She’s a waif of a thing, and is actually in an 18 month according to the size chart. It’s big on her, but she loves it, so she can keep it.

IMG_6601.JPG

IMG_6398.JPG These were taken on her birthday. Cutest birthday girl ever!

Next, I made Elle a zippered, collared, kangaroo pocket, size 18 month. The pink fabric was the devil. It kept shedding while I was working with it. The zipper isn’t hard at all, and actually isn’t why I was avoiding going to the store. I just don’t like taking four kids to the fabric store. Even more so when it is snowy out. I swear my pockets were lined up. My machine had a major meltdown hissy fit, and I think in all the chaos of rearranging my desk to use my back up machine, that the pockets for shifted about.

DETAILS
The Pattern: Craftsy. Etsy.
Sizes: newborn to 12
Options: Reach through, small, and kangaroo pockets. Snaps, zipper, or pullover. Hood or collar. Sleeves or sleeveless vest.
Other: Pattern is fully illustrated! 31 of tutorial, 28 pages of pattern.
Skill level: Confident beginner
Facebook: Fan Page. Group.
SALE: For the next 24 hours the price has been marked down 20% on Craftsy.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

