NimblePhish – Country Mouse

EDIT TO ADD:
NimblePhish has a discount code good for this weekend, to celebrate birthday’s in Naomi’s home, and NimblePhish’s 2nd anniversary. Use HAPPYHAPPY to receive 55% off. Good for all purchases on the Etsy site.

Oh my gosh!! I love this little mouse.

IMG_1447.JPG

I’m not going to lie, I actually squealed when I was chosen to help Naomi of NimblePhish test out this little guy.

DETAIL, first. The Country Mouse is a partially in the hoop (ITH) pattern. You need an embroidery machine to make him. Although there was whispers that he might become a straight up sewing pattern too. But he isn’t right now. The Country Mouse, which you can find here, can be made in a 4×4 or 5×7 hoop.

I actually have a 4×4 hoop, so that worked out well for me. I seriously need to get myself a 5×7 hoop. Life would be so much easier with one. All my problems would be solved. There would be peace in our time. World hunger would be solved. And all that jazz. I really want one, yo!

Where was I? Ah yes. Adorable mouse!

IMG_1455.JPG I need to get better at trimming closer to my tack down stitches.

This was my first ITH project. I actually messed up the first one I did. I was tired and doing too many different thins while making it. So, the brown one looks slightly off because I made some silly mistakes.

IMG_1566.JPG

The next one, Blue, turned out much better. Note to self (and all of you): water soluble topper is your friend. USE IT!! And so is basting spray. I admit to not using it on this project, because I didn’t have any. But, I’ve used it on the wings and masks for the kids’ Halloween costumes and I now know how helpful it is. It’s awesome! Get some. Go now. Don’t even finish reading this. It’ll be here to read when you get back.

You’re back? Excellent. Let’s continue.

IMG_1517.JPG

All the pieces are made in the hoop. The legs are attached to the body in the hoop as well. There is some hand sewing that needs to be done. BANE OF MY EXISTENCE. Actually, cutting is the bane of my existence. I didn’t even like crafts that involved cutting when I was a child.

Hand sewing isn’t that bad. I’m just not very good at it. And I’m suuuuuuper slow. The hand sewing alone took me an hour per mouse. And I made four of them. The ears are hand sewn to the head, the arms to the body, and then the head to the body.

After seeing Elle’s (brown) and Jackson’s (blue), River and Danica both asked for a mouse. River requested pink. And Danica asked for rainbow.

IMG_1506.JPG

IMG_1505.JPG

The back of the head on Danica’s is the fabric I used for Jackson’s elf shoes. She was asleep when I made hers and the only request she gave me was rainbow. Thankfully, she liked what I came up with for her.

Elle and I watched a YouTube video of someone reading If You Give A Mouse A Cookie. She now calls her mouse “Cookie.” It’s super cute.

IMG_1565.JPG

Go like NimblePhish on Facebook. Because NimblePhish is awesome. Naomi is awesome. The Country Mouse is awesome. And all the talented ladies who hang out over on the fan page are awesome too.

I’m Linking Up, yo!! Over at Straight Grain.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

