Gracie May – Classic Dress

I tested the Classic Dress by Gracie May Designs, in a tunic length. Let’s get real for a second. This test was difficult for me. Not because of the design or the pattern or anything of that sort. That’s all fine. But, with the test we were asked to let our creative side out – use the pattern as a blank slate. You should see all the beautiful creations people came up with. Adding lace. Adding sleeve. Switching the button closure up to a zipper. So many beautiful add-ons and finishing touches

And what did I come up with?

Nothing!

I’m lame.

Apparently I am not the creative, let your imagination run wild type.

IMG_2010.JPG

Even the one I did end up making for the test didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to. It was suppose to be this beautiful crisp white with the hot pink lining. Just for something fun. BUT, when I sprayed a bit of water on it while ironing, the pink leaked through. Ugh. And yes, before you ask, I did prewash.

IMG_1777.JPG

So, what’s a girl to do at this point? I could start again. But, considering a fun lining was the one and only idea I could come up with, I didn’t feel like starting all over again.

Instead, I sprayed it all. If the pink was going to leak, I might as well aim to have an even colour distribution. You can see that it worked fairly well, except for at the hem. It’s a bit more saturated there.

IMG_1899.JPG

Danica does like it though. She’s wearing a size 5 here. She could have gone down to a size 4, according to her measurements. It was left up to me to pick the size, and I opted to size her up. I think she’ll get more wear out of it this way. It should fit her still next summer when it is actually warm and not approaching winter.

I should not even complain about winter. We’re 1/3 of the way into October and the high for today is 19 degrees (57 Fahrenheit). There’s no snow on the ground. In fact, I mowed the lawn yesterday afternoon. In a short sleeve shirt. I have zero right to whine about the upcoming winter. I’m fairly certain the ground was covered in snow this time last year.

To sum up. I had issues because I’m lame sauce. But, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with the pattern. It’s beautiful and such a neat concept. For me, for testing purposes, trying to be creative was too much pressure.

THE PATTERN DETAILS:
Sizes: 18 months to size 12.
Lengths: tunic, mid thigh, knee
Notions: buttons
Other notes: The Class Dress is part of the Dress It Up Collection. The aim is to use the dress and the additional add-on patterns as blank slates – letting your imagination and creativity run wild.
Sleeve Add-On: capped, ruffled, and puffed.

THE LINKS
The pattern. Click here for Etsy. Click here for the website.
The pattern bundled with the sleeve add-on. Click here for Etsy. Click here for the website. Use code DRESSITUP on the website for a discount.
Like Gracie May Designs on Facebook by clicking here.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

