Laurelette

I got to test out the cutest pattern!! I love it. I made two for Elle during testing. One for Danica for her school picture day. And sadly, none for River because I haven’t had the perfect fabric for her speak to me yet. Poor middle child. Not that she’s the middle child any more. But, she is the middle girl. This is off topic.

I had the opportunity to test out the Greenstlye’s Laurelette. And it is super fab! Some details. Tunic and dress lengths, in either a regulator hi-low hem. Long, 3/4, elbow, and short sleeve options. Pleated skirt for the front and back, but there is a flat back option as well. POCKET!! Cowl neckline or neck binding option. Seriously, you could make the pattern over and over again, and end up with a different look each time.

IMG_9894.JPG

IMG_9928.JPG

This red one for Elle is done in a super stretchy slinky fabric. Total pain to work with. But it’s so pretty on her. It’s the same fabric I used to make one of Danica’s Uptown/Downtown Dress. I made this one with a long sleeve, cowl neckline, and pleated front and back skirt in a tunic length. I hope it still fits her around Christmas time. It just feels festive to me.

IMG_9887.JPG

IMG_9842.JPG

As you can see, this one makes Elle run fast. It’s a bit more of a casual look than her slinky red one. I actually repurposed the Trendy Tunic that I’d made myself while pregnant. Good bye maternity clothing! I really like how it turned out. This time I did the flat back and changed the sleeve length to elbow. Actually. They could be short sleeves. For her measurements, Elle is the smallest size, 12-18 months. But, she’s obviously taller than your average 12-18 month old considering she’s almost 2. So, I can’t remember if this was suppose to be elbow length but is short because she’s tall. Or if it is a short sleeve. Hmmm. This is going to bug me.

And since I enjoyed making them so much, I decided that the Laurelette was the perfect pattern for Danica’s VERY FIRST SCHOOL PICTURES EVER!!! I’m a little excited about them.

IMG_0398.JPG

IMG_0382.JPG

She’s a little bit cheeky! I saw the idea of making the cowl and sleeves the same printed fabric, and the skirt and bodice the same soldiers fabric. It kind of looks like a jumper over a top. Don’t you think? Danica’s has the cowl neckline, pleated front only, and 3/4 length sleeves. Love it!

THE LINKS:
The pattern. Click here for Craftsy. Click here for GreenStyle’s website.
GreenStyle’s page on Facebook. Click here.
GreenStyle’s group on Facebook. Click here.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

