Ballerina Street Smart

The end of June, I had the opportunity to test the Street Smart Sweatshirt Collection for Little Kiwi’s Closet. I blogged about it here. Danica’s doesn’t fit as nicely as it did. She grew this summer. And since we’ve had some cold days I wanted to whip her up a new one.

IMG_0691.JPG

The Fabricland closest to me is closing. I think that whole end of the mall is being turned into a super market. That’s what the ladies at Fabricland told me anyway. This fleece was on sale for $4/m. I bought the last 1.5m of it. I have some left over for River and Elle. Probably not enough for full sweaters for each of them, but they’ll both get something using it. The sparkly red fabric was a top my MIL was getting rid of.

IMG_0799.JPG

IMG_0797.JPG

IMG_0704.JPG

Originally the hem band was a solid red. It looked like a good match when it was in my sewing room. Not so much in the real light. Uuuuuuugh!!! And I didn’t have enough of the top left to make a new hem band without piecing it together. Double uuuuuuugh!!!

It bothered me enough that I didn’t end up piecing the remaining scraps from the shirt together to make a new hem band. I was also worried that the glittery fabric didn’t have enough stability to it. I lined it with the red hem band ribbing that I originally had on the sweater. Problem solved. The fabrics all matches and the hem band had some strength to it.

IMG_0737.JPG

Elle was the only one awake when I finished the hem band reconstruction. So, of course she had to try it on.

IMG_0769.JPG

I also switched up the pockets a bit. Instead of a kangaroo pocket on the front, I chose to do side seam pockets. Since its a large print pattern, I didn’t want to lose one whole ballerina by putting on the kangaroo pocket. If it was a smaller print, I wouldn’t have had an issue. But, I wanted Danica to have as many full ballerinas as possible.

IMG_0718.JPG

THE LINKS:
The pattern. Click here for Etsy. Click here for Craftsy.
Little Kiwi’s Closet page on Facebook. Click here.
Litte Kiwi’s Closet group on Facebook. Click here.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

