Blue Bunny’s Hat

When River was a month old I bought her a little bunny lovely, that would affectionately, but not creatively, be named Blue Bunny. River LOVES her Blue Bunny. It’s obvious by his general appearance. I tried buying her a replacement once. She threw it across the room and told me “yuck.” She’s made peace with New Bunny now, accepted him as one of her own, and even allows him to sleep in her bed. I’ll contribute this to Danny who told her that New Bunny was Blue Bunny’s brother. Still, nobody can replace Blue Bunny.

picture This is how Blue Bunny looked in his prime. He was so soft! Source.

One night this summer, after tucking River in to bed I heard her crying. Blue Bunny’s hat, which she’s always rubbed, and wrapped around her finger, was tangled and she couldn’t untangle it. I told her I’d try and fix it. I knew there was no way to salvage the hat. I also know River. She’s picky. I decided that I would attempt to make Blue Bunny a new hat, and hope that River would accept a new hat in different fabric. I also envisioned this would be the end of Blue Bunny if she didn’t accept the new hat I made. I braced myself for the temper tantrum that would come in the morning, but set about making him a new hat anyway.

209 Not much to work with.

210 It pained me a little to remove and dismantle what was left of Blue Bunny’s hat.

211 Blue Bunny’s new hat.

I chose a green and blue striped scrap of jersey. I figured that my chances of River being ok with the new hat would increase if i kept with the striped look. I hand stitched the hat onto Blue Bunny’s head in four different spots. Asked my husband to wish me luck, and tucked Blue Bunny into bed with a sleeping River.

She LOVES his new hat! Phew! Blue Bunny lives to see another day!

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

