Jack Skellington Underwear

I haven’t blogged in a million years. I have been sewing though. Not so much recently, because I’ve been busy with a newborn, but I did sew quite a bit in the summer.

Danica is in love with Nightmare Before Christmas. There was a time where she would watch the movie every single day. I am sure she still would, if I would let her. I don’t though. It’s not my favorite movie. It actually creeps me out a bit. But she loves it, so when I had the chance to buy some Jack Skellington fabric, I knew I had to make something for her.

019

UNDIES!! That’s right.

The pair with blue elastic is based off of Serger Pepper’s FREE Lovely Panties pattern. Available here on Craftsy. If I remember correctly, it only comes in size 4-5yr. Serger Pepper does have another underwear pattern available, with a much larger size range, (3-14). But, I wanted to give the free version a try. Sometimes I am hesitant when trying out something I’ve never made before, like underwear. And free patterns seem like less of a gamble.

020

The green elastic pair is roughly based off of The Red Kitchen’s Undies pattern, which I can not track down at all. Here is a blog post by The Red Kitchen about it. I believe it came as part of a pattern bundle I purchased last fall, and in all honesty, I would not have purchased it on its own. I used the construction instructions from Serger Pepper’s pattern, as they were simpler and yielded a more finished look.

021

With both pairs, I opted to switch up the waistband and leg openings, and use lingerie elastic. Fun, right? Also something I’ve never done before. I checked out Pinterest and found this post on making underwear, and used the instructions for the elastic. I messed up on my first leg hole – my elastic doesn’t quite meet – but other than that one hiccup, they went together perfectly.

I prefer the fit of the Serger Pepper pair, although they seem a tad low at the back. I’ll raise them up a bit if I make them again. The most important thing is that Danica likes them.

You can “like” Serger Pepper on Facebook. Serger Pepper also has a Facebook group, Serger Pepper Patterns.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jack Skellington Underwear

  1. Pingback: Baby Sewing | Manning The Machine

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

