Mother’s Day 2014

Guys, my husband is the best!! He gave me the most awesome Mother’s Day gift this year. I wasn’t actually expecting anything for Mother’s Day. Truth be told, I’m not a big Mother’s Day fan, and we don’t make a big fuss about it. But this year, my husband blew me away with the truly awesome gift he gave me.

I think Ive mentioned before that I have a hovel of a sewing room. Truly a hovel. It’s a little workshop off of our laundry room. Just look. Oh yeah and the florescent light burnt out this morning.

Photo 2014-05-07, 11 46 27 AM Photo 2014-05-07, 11 46 40 AM Photo 2014-05-07, 11 46 34 AM

See, I told you. Hovel.

The Wednesday before Mother’s Day, he came home from running errands, and started moving the furniture out of the spare room. And told me to clear my shelves off in my sewing room so he could move them to the spare room for me! He also had picked up a table from his best friend, so that I wouldn’t have to use the folding table anymore.

Photo 2014-05-07, 11 59 22 AM

Huzzah! A new sewing room for Mother’s Day. Once I had the wall shelves cleared off, and ready for Danny to put in the new room, River and I ran to Home Depot and grabbed as many shelving units as I could manage.

We worked hard on it all day long, and I kept working on it late into the night. Around 930pm, I decided that I would never complain about not having enough fabric EVER AGAIN! I was ready to pull my hair out, cry, and light all my fabric on fire, just to avoid moving it all. SO MUCH FABRIC. I called it a night at that point and got back at it the next day. I want to say that I was finished the next night, and it is mostly true. However, a few days later, Danny swapped out one of my shelves because it didn’t match the other ones. He’s OCD like that. It didn’t bug me, but it was bothering him. The odd shelf out is now in the hovel, which is now Danny’s new Man Cave. I still haven’t reshelved the fabric he took off. I should. Because the two big bins he put it in are seriously in my way. It’s all the slippery fabrics thought. I warned Danny about that when he took the fabrics off. Of course I also have eyelet on that shelf, which isn’t slippery at all. “This fabric isn’t slippery, what are you talking about?” Then he got to the next shelf. “Oh, that’s a little slippery. Ah, it’s all falling over. Why is it doing this? Why do they even make fabric like this. How much of this fabric do you have? Yeah, I tried to get it in the bin nicely, it’s all unfolding and falling all over the place. Sorry babe.” Yeah. I told you it was slippery.

Photo 2014-05-08, 1 13 38 PM Photo 2014-05-08, 1 13 50 PM Photo 2014-05-08, 1 13 54 PM Photo 2014-05-08, 1 14 02 PM Photo 2014-05-08, 1 14 08 PM Photo 2014-05-08, 1 14 15 PM Photo 2014-05-08, 1 14 23 PM Photo 2014-05-08, 1 14 34 PM

I LOVE IT! Oh, and did you notice. I have a window now. Yeah, a real, actual window.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Life, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

