Bebelambs – Hope Floats BLOG TOUR

Welcome to my little blog, thanks so much for stopping by. Happy Mother’s Day to those who celebrate it. I’m starting off the Hope Floats Breezy Blog Tour. Head on over to Bebelamb’s blog to see the rest of the tour line up, here.

20140510-165605.jpg Thin ice? You don’t say.

I love this top. It’s a pretty quick sew too. Confession time. I’m not a quick sewist. I’m quick at the actual sewing, it’s all the other things that I’m slow with. For no other reason than I putter a bit, I’m fairly slow when I iron and pin and do all the non-sewing related tasks that come along with sewing. When I say a project is a quick sew, I generally mean it is quick for other people, not for myself, because I’m aware that I putter about.

20140510-165417.jpg
I made this top in two hours. Which, for me, is actually pretty darn quick. I was on a deadline. I only had the two hours to get it done before we needed to head an hour out of town to pick Danica up from her week long sleepover with her Grandparents. The theme for the blog tour is beachy and breezy. There’s a nice little duck lake in Wetaskiwin that I figured would be great to take pictures at. Two hours to make it, knowing full well that I putter. Mission accomplished, and we had time to take pictures before dinner.

20140510-163937.jpg

20140510-163928.jpg
Another confession time. I cheated a little bit when I made this one. I’ve made this pattern a few time before, which you can read about here. I knew where I could cheat a little bit this time. I made my straps first, then sewed up the front bodice all in one step, from side seam to side seam, with the straps already tucked in to place. I also decided that I wanted the skirt a little bit fuller to match the breezy, beachy feel of the blog tour. I cut the skirt portion to the correct length for the size 5T, but I left the width the width of the fabric I was using. After serging all my edges, (I’m a snip and ripper, so I serge to get rid of the fray), I threw my ruffler foot on my sewing machine and ruffled both skirt pieces. I love my ruffler foot. I set it to a 1, and turned the screw just ever so slightly past the 1, a hair’s width. When I attached the skirts to the bodices, I had extra fabric, which I just trimmed off. I like how it turned out. I might have shortened it a bit, if I’d actually had Danica at home to try it on first. She thinks it is just a short dress.

20140510-165822.jpg

20140510-165832.jpg
I had originally wanted to embroider an anchor onto the bodice, but even with my few little cheats to speed me up, there wasn’t enough time. I think I lose most of my time on pressing and ironing.

20140510-170002.jpg
If you want, head on over to Facebook and give Bebelambs a like. You can find the Hope Floats pattern here on Etsy and here on Craftsy. There’s a 50% off sale happening on the Etsy store until Monday. I grabbed the Kinley’s and Sutton’s. Thank you Lynn, of Bebelambs, for allowing me to help test some of your patterns and having me as part of this blog tour. Oh. Don’t forget to stop by Lynn’s blog enter to win a free copy of the pattern. If the giveaway link isn’t working there, try here instead.

20140510-170135.jpg

20140510-170148.jpg

20140510-170157.jpg

20140510-170206.jpg
She’s such a ham bone!

20140510-170318.jpg
Family.

Want to see my latest Labri Maxi and a sneak peek of the next pattern in testing for Bebelambs? Click here.

I’m linking up, here.

Make It and Love It

And here.

The Girl Creative

And here.

20140517-212945.jpg

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Bebelambs – Hope Floats BLOG TOUR

  1. Pingback: t’s Day 1 of the Hope Floats Breezy Blog Tour | bebelambs

  2. Pingback: Hope Floats Breezy Blog Tour | bebelambs

  3. Susan Page says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to the sewingest mother of all! Today’s project looks like a perfect fit for Danica’s personality!

    Like

    • Oh thank you. Happy Mother’s Day to you as well. Actually, Danica is slightly disappointed. She thought the sails on the skirt were hearts. When it comes out of the wash, I promised to add a heart somewhere for her.

      Like

  4. Melissa says:

    What a beautiful version (I like it as a dress) I love what a quick, yet beautiful sew this one is.

    Like

  5. Jess says:

    lovely! I am showing my dress on Friday over at http://www.graciousthreads.ca 🙂 Also, I think we are ‘neighbours’, unless there is another Wetaskiwin 🙂

    Like

    • I just checked your “About” page. Totally neighbours! How fun! I love finding other Canadian sewing bloggers and it’s even better when they’re provincially local. I can’t wait to see yours on Friday.

      Like

  6. Terry says:

    Gorgeous!!!! I love the fabrics you choose!!!!

    Like

  7. Eska says:

    I love the fabric you chose and the bodice shape is very flattering.

    Like

    • Thank you. I had originally picked out some different fabric, and found this when I was moving sewing rooms. It just spoke to me. I think she likes it too. She’s worn it so much since I made it.

      Like

  8. Daniela says:

    I am in love with the back of that dress! So pretty. and the color too!

    Like

  9. Gah, adorable! Love the bow!

    Like

  10. Pingback: It's Day 1 of the Hope Floats Breezy Blog Tour - A WordPress Site

  11. Pingback: Hope Floats Breezy Blog Tour - A WordPress Site

  12. Pingback: Its Day 1 of the Hope Floats Breezy Blog Tour | bebelambsbebelambs

  13. Pingback: Hope Floats Breezy Blog Tour | bebelambsbebelambs

  14. Danielle says:

    I love those cute little sailboats! I’d love for you to link up to my Feature Friday Linky Party! This post would be a hit! http://www.blissfulanddomestic.com

    Like

  15. Pingback: Bebelambs – Cassandra | Manning The Machine

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

