Pockets – Hulk Smash

As you may recall, or not, I posted here that I’d completely messed up the pockets on a dress I was working on. Messing up how I did the pocket threw almost everything on that dress out of whack. I can’t share photos yet, but it raised the neckline and it made my facings too big. You’d understand why if you could see the dress design.

Since it was for a pattern test, I started again. I didn’t do the sleeves that I did before and instead opted to bind my armholes with bias tape. There was no error in my previous sleeves, so I didn’t feel the need to test them again. I also shortened the length to more of a tunic length. Again, I’d figured out length in the previous dress. This remake was just to figure out pockets and check the facings.

Done! After a bit of struggling I figured out the pockets. I wanted to Hulk Smash them at first. Especially when I started making the same mistake. They seriously made me question my competence. But, I got them sorted, and Danica loves the pockets. The facings fit perfectly too.

Awesome!

Again, can’t share because it hasn’t released yet. I find it interesting how some designers will let you share with the world throughout the process and others ask that you wait. Just an interesting observation.

Here’s a sneak peak.

20140415-101628.jpg
That right there, that’s a non-Hulk Smash pocket.

20140415-111649.jpg
Thanks, Tim. I’ll try.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

