KCW – Day Six

Day six has come and gone for KCW. One more day. I feel like I sewed a lot on days three, four and five. I didn’t do much today. I did one little thing and it took me two minutes. And it isn’t even clothing, technically. But, I think it was a little bit clever.

Danica, my nearly 5 year old, has super bad skin on her hands, wrists and part way up her arm. It’s pretty dry here and with the weather changing from extreme cold to somewhat warm, it’s expected. Also, I think she goofs about in the sink when washing her hands and then doesn’t dry them properly.

Basically, her skin looks awful. Dry. Cracking. And somewhat swollen. Just bad.

I get super cracked and dry hands out here too, mostly on my knuckles and finger tips. I just assumed it was the change in climate from the moist island to the frozen tundra. My hands spend a good deal of time slathered in lotion with moisturizing gloves on.

The gloves I have are store bought, and made of nice, soft, breathable, stretch fabric. The only gloves laying around the house in Danica’s size are winter gloves.

In a moment of desperation, while looking at her poor little hands, I decided she needed her own moisturizing “gloves.” I grabbed my measuring tape and measured from the tip of her middle finger to part ways up her forearm. Far enough of to be and inch or two past the worst of the dryness. Then I wrapped my measuring tape around the circumference of this part of her arm. I had a little scrap of pink and purple stripe jersey and cut two rectangles slightly bigger than the measurements I took. I also cut two pieces of 1/4″ wide clear elastic slightly smaller than her arm circumference. I folded the rectangles with right sides together and sewed up the short end and long side with my zig zag stitch. Then I flipped them around and zig zagged the clear elastic to the right side, while slightly stretching the elastic. I could have done it on the wrong side, but didn’t want to worry about it bugging Danica. I want her to wear these, after all. And I just know the clear elastic would bug her if it touched her skin. Done. Two minute job.

AND she wore them. I told her it would help. I also told her that I was going to use the hemp lotion we have, but that it wouldn’t be “stinky” (she hates how it smells) because the gloves would block the smell. She wore them until lunch and asked to put them on again at bedtime. Phew! They’re a win. Fingers crossed they work. Her little hands just need something, anything, and hopefully this is the trick.

Ignore her dirty placemat. And yes, it’s snowflakes. Because that’s the closest placemat we have for Elsa from Frozen. Hey, if telling her it is just like Elsa keeps her and River from fighting over the Tinkerbell one, then so be it.

20140412-205517.jpg

20140412-205530.jpg

20140412-205538.jpg

20140412-205545.jpg
Her hands look worse in real life. Like a million times worse. Maybe I just think that because in real life I can touch them and feel how bad they are.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KCW – Day Six

  1. Eska says:

    My daughter gets such awful dry skin, also. Whenever I notice how bad it looks I want to put lotion on it and it usually stings because of the large cracks. She doesn’t like it because it stings so she doesn’t tell me. You see the cycle going on here?

    If your solution works I may have to try it for my girl, too.

    Like

    • It works. I didn’t want to reply too soon. It works. She’s used them every night this week starting on Saturday night. By Tuesday night her hands were nice and smooth and soft. You never would have known how awful they were. I haven’t even been putting lotion in them the last couple night, but I think she likes them, because she keeps asking for them at bedtime.

      Like

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

