Toddlers and Putting Fabric Away Don’t Mix

I’m attempting to fold and put some fabric away tonight. Unfortunately, I’m not very bright, and I’m doing this while Elle (17 months) is awake.

Folding and putting away fabric is much more difficult with Elle as a helper. Every piece is “wow” or “woah” and then dragged off to her corner. Like this one.

20140408-192901.jpg

This one didn’t even get dragged away. It was proclaimed “ooooh, niiiii” (nice) and then promptly cuddled with on the floor. Please note that it is not a cuddly piece of fabric. It’s in no way unpleasing to touch. But there was a piece of minky right next to it that would have been far more cuddle worthy.

20140408-193142.jpg

Two meters of this glittery fabric. And it was dragged off to the corner to join the Halloween fabric. Taken right from my hands with a “no, no, no, bye.” Why did I bother vacuuming today?

20140408-193516.jpg

I give up. She’s laying on the rest of my pile. Laughing at me.

20140408-193909.jpg

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Toddlers and Putting Fabric Away Don’t Mix

  1. Eska says:

    I can totally relate. I had kids that would sit in the laundry basket while I was attempting to fold it.

    Like

  2. Susan Page says:

    Elle is just starting her own fabric stash as any self-respecting seamstress would do. She’s getting an earlier start than most of us did but don’t forget who her role model is!

    Like

    • That must be it. She is always wandering into my sewing room and stealing fabric. There is a saying “she who dies with the most fabric wins.” If Elle is starting her stash now, at a year old, I have a feeling she is going to win. My Bobo, I think, holds the current title. I believe my Grandfather said that she had SEVEN sheds full of fabric and sewing goodness. How I wish I could bring those sheds to my house.

      Like

  3. Shawnta says:

    Cute! Well my kids are too big to do that but I do have a yorkie that will sit on any fabric and possibly chew the corners 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: My Spoils – Fabulous Fabric Frenzy | Manning The Machine

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

