Pattern Storage Dreams

Last night I posted about Kijiji Finds. Within, I stated that it was my dream to own a pattern filing cabinet.

DREAM REALIZED

20140321-154031.jpg

My husband and his best friend just picked it up from me. Fabricland is no longer carrying Simplicity patterns because there was going to be a 160% price increase. I called around and found this beauty at one of the locations.

Now to clean her up.

And to give you and idea….

20140321-154341.jpg

These three Rubbermaid bins are FULL, plus I have a handful of bankers boxes in my sewing room with patterns too.

UPDATE:
I’ve filled three of the four drawers, plus one of the five rows in the last drawer.

Hoarder much?

EDIT TO ADD:
It was $50 at the Londonderry Mall location in Edmonton. My husband said it looked like they had a few more. But call your local Fabricland if you want one. Because they’re no longer carrying Simplicity patterns at any locations. Which also means current stock of Simplicity is being sold out real cheap. I’ve seen patterns for 50 cents at some locations. Although the one closest to me still has them for $2.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Patterns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pattern Storage Dreams

  1. Susan Page says:

    Wow, that dream came true very quickly! Using the cabinet to store everything including fabrics is such a good idea–all of it in one place. Thanks for the note about the sale on Simplicity patterns. We have a F/land in MHat & I’ll call to see if they have any left. I just bought 2 online for a lot more than $2each!

    Like

    • It was realized quickly. You should check your Fabricland. They’re selling off fast here. The location closest to me only has a small basket left. I can’t believe I have so many patterns. I really need to organize and go through them. I know some are missing components.

      Like

  2. Sara says:

    That would be my dream come true! You were SO lucky! I love vintage patterns but I only have a few… I can’t find them in my Country and the ones I have were either inherit from my granny or bought online for a ridiculous price (they become very pricey with shipping costs and all…).

    Like

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

