Green Sweatshirt

I seem to have already hit that phase of pregnancy where I can’t sleep at time. Pregnancy insomnia, oh so fun. It does seem a little early though, as I just hit 19 weeks today. C’est la vie.

Tonight, I made myself up a green sweatshirt. Earlier this week I drafted a shirt pattern, using a nice fitting tee, one that I wear often. There’s lot of great tutorials out there on how to create patterns from ready made clothing. You can do a quick google search. Or click here (Shwin and Shwin), orhere (Craftiness is Not Optional), or if you want to cut the shirt up here (Made).

I used a green sweatshirt knit fabric. I cut out bands for the sleeves and the waistband. I measured the width of the bottom of the sleeve pattern and cut two bands (one for each sleeve) to that measurement and five inches wide. I did the same for the waistband but six inches wide instead of five, and I cut two pieces, a piece for the front and back, joined at the side seams.

I used my serger for the construction of the sweatshirt, except I did baste the sleeves in on my machine first. I’m not very skilled at curves on my serger, and like a little reassurance. BUT, the sleeves serged in nicely. I didn’t accidentally go off the edge or anything. Same with the underarm at the side seam. Considering I was sewing after midnight, when generally I should avoid my sewing room at that hour, it really is amazing it serged up as well as it did.

I haven’t finished the neckline. I kind of like it unfinished. And fortunately, you don’t have to finish knits off if you don’t want to. Win!

The sleeves are long, but not annoyingly so. The length of the sweatshirt is nice and goes over my baby bump. If I’d made it a few inches longer, maybe three, it would cover my bottom and then I could wear it more confidently with leggings. Next time.

I know spring is coming and I should be thinking t-shirts not sweatshirts, but I am freezing this pregnancy. FREEEZING. I’ve even resorted to wearing socks. SOCKS! I hate socks. Despise them. I actually think they’re an abomination.

20140314-020542.jpg

20140314-020509.jpg

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green Sweatshirt

  1. Susan Page says:

    Laura, you’re a machine!! And you’re right–the not sleeping nesting stage should be months away yet. Last night’s sweatshirt looks great & your kids will be happy that all of them has a new skirt but you’re setting a fast & bad sewing precedent for yourself & the rest of us! Having said that I can’t wait to see what’s next.

    Like

    • My husband gets home around 530am from work. He said that he covered me back up no less than three times. Apparently I’m just kicking my blankets off. Maybe I’ll tuck them all in under the mattress tonight and see if that helps the sleep issues.

      Like

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

