Elle’s Rose’s Skirt

I decided Elle was feeling left out, and whipped her up a Filles à Maman Rose’s skirt at nap time.

I’d cut pockets for River’s skirt, but forgot to use them. I also had a 4″ wide strip of fabric, the perfect size for the waistband. The rest of the skirt I made out of a tubular piece of black jersey. Neat thing about it being tubular, the folds are already in place to plunk my patterns on to. Handy! Elle is 16 months, and I opted to make her the 12 month size. It’s perfect.

This time around, not only did I not need to use the instructions, I didn’t need to transfer any of the marking from the pattern pieces to the fabric. I feel like I’m at the point where I could make this skirt in my sleep.

20140313-153355.jpg

20140313-153403.jpg

20140313-153409.jpg

20140313-153416.jpg

Tomorrow, I think I’ll try out the Bimaa Sweater by LouBeeClothing with the cowl neck. I traced the pattern pieces this morning. I just need to figure out if I have any 4-way stretch in my stash.

I got the Bimaa Sweater in October last year as part of the Fall 2013 Sew Fab Bundle. 26 patterns for $29.95. The Spring 2014 bundle is coming soon! I’m excited to see what it contains.

EDIT TO ADD: March 22/14
I’m linking up to this Link Party.

Make It and Love It

EDIT TO ADD: March 22/14
The Filles à Maman Rose’s Skirt PDF is now available to purchase.
Click here to be taken directly to the Rose’s Skirt PDF listing.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Elle’s Rose’s Skirt

  1. hungrymumma says:

    So if *I* was feeling jealous and bought some knit fabric at the Fabric Frenzy in April would you be able to sew ME a skirt in your sleep?!?!
    These are totally adorable. I’m in love with them. And also with the models. Just saying. Cutest girls ever.
    –Ariana

    Like

  2. Eska says:

    These are very cute. I want one in growned up size, too!

    Like

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

