Filles à Maman – Rose’s skirt 2.0

I made another Filles à Maman Rose’s skirt for Danica this morning, without pockets though.

20140311-112151.jpg

This time I used an extra large adult shirt to make the skirt. The only issue is the waist and bottom bands. The waistband is 5×20.5 inches, and the bottom band is 5×21.5 inches. The shirt wasn’t wide enough to cut the waist and bottom bands in one go. I added 3/4 inch to each measurement, to accommodate the addition of another 3/8 inch seam allowance. Then I divided this measurement into two to create the two pieces needed per band. For the waistband I cut two pieces 5×10 5/8 inches. For the bottom band I cut two pieces 5×11 1/8 inches.

Or rather, that’s what I should have cut them to. I obviously wasn’t paying much attention and one of my waistband pieces ended up 4 inches wide. So, I made all the pieces 4 inches wide to keep it cohesive.

The normal 5 inch wide waistband gets folded in half with a 2 inch elastic insert in between. With the 4 inch wide waistband, I obviously couldn’t use the 2 inch wide elastic. I switched it out for 1.5 inch wide elastic.

All my measurements worked out perfectly. The waistband and bottom band seams matched up so nicely with the side seams of the skirt.

I think it looks super cute.

20140311-113251.jpg

20140311-113302.jpg

20140311-113311.jpg

20140311-113319.jpg

Not really related, but sort of. River sat on my sewing room floor, riffling through my elastic bin, and pilfering some lime green decorative elastic. Here’s a little sample of our repetitive back and forth while I was sewing.

“Mommy, what you doing?”
“Making Danica a skirt.”
“Where my pink one?”
“What pink one?”
“Like Danica. I need my pink one too. Oh please, oh please.”

EDIT TO ADD: March 22/14
The Filles à Maman Rose’s Skirt PDF is now available to purchase.
Click here to be taken directly to the Rose’s Skirt PDF listing.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

