Fabulous Fabric Frenzy

We have this wonderful group in Edmonton. Grandmothers of Alberta for a New Generation, or as they are commonly called, “The GANG.” They do really wonderful work supporting the Stephen Lewis Foundation Grandmothers to Grandmothers Campaign. If you have a few moments, read about both The Gang and the campaign. It really is great work, done by some wonderful people with big hearts.

Really quickly an insert from The Gang’s blog:

The struggle in Africa against AIDS has wiped out a generation of parents, leaving grandmothers in Africa to raise their grandchildren-and often the grandchildren of others-on their own. We stand in solidarity with them, and we will not rest until they can rest. …
“The GANG” is a non profit, grassroots group of grandmothers and others in the Edmonton capital region. Our mission is to reach out with compassion and love to African grandmothers who are carrying the burden of HIV/AIDS.

There are generally two causes that I donate money two. The first being The Edmonton Stollery Children’s Hospital Foundation. I feel like that one is self-explanatory. I’m a mom. I have kids. I support the Stollery and the services and care they provide to sick children and their families. I hope to never need most of their services, although I’ve been with my 2nd to set her broken arm (that’s why we call her Danger). The second being any cause that supports AIDS research or those left behind, like The Gang does. At a young age, too young to remember, my grandparents lost a son to AIDS. He was missed everyday by family, I think most especially his mother. I support this cause in honor of my Bobo and the heartache she suffered.

What does any of this have to do with the title of the post? I know, I haven’t even mentioned fabric. As part of their fundraising efforts, The Gang is holding an event on April 5, called Fabulous Fabric Frenzy. Last year was the first one, and held the day after my birthday. I’ll be there this year for sure. Fabric sold for $1/meter. And the meters were generous. If it was 1 meter it was $1. If it was 1.25m, 1.5m, 1.75m it was $1. ONE DOLLAR!!! Do you know how awesome that is?? Last year my SIL were obviously on glue (not really) because we took four kids between the two of us. This year, I’ll be going early and leaving the kids at home. Mama needs both hands for all the fabric goodness!

Event details!

20140303-195742.jpg

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to four, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Fabulous Fabric Frenzy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fabulous Fabric Frenzy

  1. Pingback: Kijiji Finds | Manning The Machine

  2. Pingback: My Spoils – Fabulous Fabric Frenzy | Manning The Machine

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

