Mimi Shirt and Dress by Filles à Maman.

One more post from that super busy sewing week (this post). I’ve quickly blogged about the rest. The GYCT FREE Fox Coin Purse and the Bebelambs Hope Floats Tops that I’d made for River and Danica and the Labri Maxi that I pretested for Elle, and the Retro Frock by Dandelions ‘N Dungarees for Danica, and the Active Classics by Ginger Baby Patterns.

And finishing off that super busy sewing week is the Mimi Dress and Shirt pattern by Filles à Maman. This is the second pattern test that I’ve had the pleasure of doing for Mel of Filles à Maman. The Rose’s Skirt by Filles à Maman was the first pattern I’d tested ever, so I have a bit of a soft spot for Filles à Maman. That soft spot aside, I cannot say enough good things about her patterns. One of the worst parts about PDF patterns is the printing, trimming, and taping. Thank goodness Mel plans her patten layouts so that there is no need for trimming, and all her pieces line up perfectly with multiple markers to get them that way. I love them. If you want, you can check out my posts on the Rose’s skirt here, here, here, here, and here. Yeah. Slightly obsessed. Just a bit. Go and like Filles à Maman on Facebook.

20140501-094425.jpg

20140501-094523.jpg

20140501-094538.jpg

20140501-094555.jpg

20140501-094604.jpg

River LOVES her ribbons, and especially her green button. This girl loves all things green. It was super fun to sew, even though at one point I wanted to chuck it against the wall. Not the patterns fault. I used some of that sport, water wicking, super annoying to sew with fabric. I’ve decided that I’m not a fan of it. Maybe we’ll become friends later in life, but now isn’t the right time.

Isn’t the top cute though? It comes with a few different options. Short sleeve or long. Collar, no collar, or fringe. Shirt or dress, even tunic length. And that off centre keyhole with button is such a fun feature. The pattern size range is 12 months to size 14. I made River a size 24m/2 because she’s a bit of a waif. We’re working on it.

GIVEAWAY! Mel is giving away a copy on her blog. Here. The giveaway closes in 7 days, but head over now before you forget to enter.

And with this post, I’ve caught up on that ridiculously busy sewing week!

I’m linking up here.

Make It and Love It

I’m linking up here.

About manningthemachine

I'm Laura. Mama to three, with number four 1/3 of the way done cooking, and wife to one awesome guy. I'm ever so slightly sarcastic. Just a little bit. I like to quote movies, but since our house is managed by little people, most of those quotes come from kiddie shows. At least my husband generally gets the references. It makes me feel less awkward. I took sewing lessons starting at the age of 8, through the Kids Can Sew program. I took lessons for four or five years. Then I became a snotty teen and decided sewing was lame. I've repented of my ways, and enjoy sewing for my little ones. And sometimes other people. And almost never for myself. Oh hey. My blog name. "Manning The Machine." I think it's probably only funny if you know me in real life. And even then, maybe it is only funny to me. My last name is Manning. This is a blog about my sewing. Manning The (Sewing) Machine. Do you get it? Do you? No. That's fine. I think it's funny even if you don't.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mimi Shirt and Dress by Filles à Maman.

  1. Eska says:

    I love the ribbon choice. It’s like a ribbon dancer on her shirt!

    Like

  2. Daniela says:

    Very beautiful work. I can see how she loves the ribbons, I do too!

    Like

  3. Melissa says:

    I love the rainbow colors and button! Simple, yet fun touches!

    Like

  4. onabear says:

    I can’t wait to sew this it is on the list after I get some testing items done.

    Like

Leave a Comment! You know you want to :)

